Franchise Four: San Diego Padres

tony gwynn DKAccording to a release by MLB on April 8, fans can visit to select the four most impactful players for each franchise who best represent the history of each franchise out of eight choices from its lineage. There is also a space for a write-in selection. Voting is live now until May 8.

The Ballot:

Nate Colbert (1969-1974)
Steve Garvey (1983-1987)
Adrian Gonzalez (2006-2010)
Tony Gwynn (1982-2001)
Trevor Hoffman (1993-2008)
Randy Jones (1973-1980)
Jake Peavy (2002-2009)
Dave Winfield (1973-1980)

Shoestring Catches Recommendations for the San Diego Padres:

Tony Gwynn: A .338 lifetime batter for the Padres, Tony Gwynn was elected into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. Gwynn had 3,141 hits in his career as he tied Honus Wagner with eight National League batting titles. He was a 15-time all-star that earned five Gold Gloves.

Trevor Hoffman: A six-time all-star, Trevor Hoffman had 552 of his 601 career saves with the Padres. Hoffman had a career-high 53 saves in 1998.

Randy Jones: A two-time all-star in San Diego, Randy Jones was the first Padres pitcher to win the National League Cy Young Award in 1976 with a 22-14 record. A year earlier, he led the league with a 2.25 ERA, while posting a 20-12 mark.

Dave Winfield: Inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2001, Dave Winfield was a four-time all-star for the Padres with a pair of Gold Gloves. Winfield his 154 homers in San Diego and led the NL with a career-high 118 RBI in 1979.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s