Franchise Four: Arizona Diamondbacks

randy johnson 2002According to a release by MLB on April 8, fans can visit to select the four most impactful players for each franchise who best represent the history of each franchise out of eight choices from its lineage. There is also a space for a write-in selection. Voting is live now until May 8.

The Ballot:

Steve Finley (1999-2004)
Paul Goldschmidt (2011-Present)
Luis Gonzalez (1999-2006)
Mark Grace (2001-2003)
Randy Johnson (1999-2004)
Curt Schilling (2000-2003)
Brandon Webb (2003-2009)
Matt Williams (1998-2003)

Shoestring Catches Recommendations for the Arizona Diamondbacks:

Paul Goldschmidt: The current face of the Diamondbacks, Paul Goldschmidt is a two-time all-star with a Gold Glove and a Silver Slugger. He led the National League with 36 homers and 125 RBI in 2013.

Luis Gonzalez: With a walk-off single in the final game of the 2001 World Series, Luis Gonzalez established his place in the history of the franchise. Gonzalez was a five-time all-star and he earned a Silver Slugger.

Randy Johnson: A four-time Cy Young Award winner in Arizona, Randy Johnson was a five-time all-star for the Diamondbacks. His best season in Arizona was in 2003 when he was 24-5 with a 2.32 ERA and 334 strikeouts. He pitched a perfect game against the Atlanta Braves in 2004.

Curt Schilling: A two-time 20-game winner with Arizona, Curt Schilling helped the Diamondbacks to their world championship in 2001. Schilling was a two-time all-star and finished second to Randy Johnson in the Cy Young Award balloting twice.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s