Franchise Four: Philadelphia Phillies

mike schmidt 1974According to a release by MLB on April 8, fans can visit to select the four most impactful players for each franchise who best represent the history of each franchise out of eight choices from its lineage. There is also a space for a write-in selection. Voting is live now until May 8.

The Ballot:

Richie Ashburn (1948-1959)
Jim Bunning (1964-1967, 1970-1971)
Steve Carlton (1972-1986)
Chuck Klein (1928-1933, 1936-1939, 1940-1944)
Robin Roberts (1948-1961)
Jimmy Rollins (2000-2014)
Mike Schmidt (1972-1989)
Chase Utley (2003-Present)

Shoestring Catches Recommendations for the Philadelphia Phillies:

Steve Carlton: Traded by the St. Louis Cardinals to Philadelphia after the 1971 season, Steve Carlton won four Cy Young Awards in 1972, 1977, 1980 and 1982. Carlton was a six-time all-star and he won at least 20 games six times for the Phillies. He the winning pitcher in the clinching contest in the 1980 World Series for Philadelphia. He was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1994 with 329 career victories.

Chuck Klein: A starter in the first all-star contest in 1933, Chuck Klein won the triple crown in the National League that season with homers, RBI and a batting average. Klein led the league in homers four times. In 1930, Klein had 170 RBI and two 26-game hitting streaks. He was the National League Most Valuable Player in 1932. He became a member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1980.

Robin Roberts: For six straight seasons from 1950-1955, Robin Roberts won at least 20 games for the Phillies with a career-high of 28 in 1952. Roberts was a seven-time all-star that started five of those mid-summer classics. He was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1976.

Mike Schmidt: A member of Major League Baseball’s All-Century Team as a third baseman, Mike Schmidt has numerous accolades that ensured his induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1995. Schmidt led the National League in home runs eight times. He was a three-time NL MVP in 1980, 1981 and 1986 and 12-time all-star. In 1980, he earned the World Series MVP honor with the Phillies winning the championship. He also had 10 Gold Gloves and six Silver Sluggers.

Vote Now


One thought on “Franchise Four: Philadelphia Phillies

  1. Pingback: Here’s some help for your Franchise Four ballots « Blogs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s