Franchise Four: Baltimore Orioles

Dave McNally 1975According to a release by MLB on April 8, fans can visit to select the four most impactful players for each franchise who best represent the history of each franchise out of eight choices from its lineage. There is also a space for a write-in selection. Voting is live now until May 8.

The Ballot:

Paul Blair (1964-1976)
Dave McNally (1962-1974)
Eddie Murray (1977-1988, 1996)
Jim Palmer (1965-1984)
Boog Powell (1961-1974)
Cal Ripken, Jr. (1981-2001)
Brooks Robinson (1955-1977)
Frank Robinson (1966-1971)

Shoestring Catches Recommendations:

Cal Ripken, Jr.: Elected to the Hall of Fame in 2007, Cal Ripken changed the game as he at 6’4” became a power hitting shortstop that would lead the Orioles to 1983 World Championship, while winning the Most Valuable Player Award. All of that aside, Ripken earned his place in history by playing in 2,632 consecutive games from 1982-98.

Brooks Robinson: Brooks Robinson was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1983 after a career that featured 16 straight gold gloves and set standards for excellence at third base. He was the American League’s Most Valuable Player in 1964. In 1970, he earned the MVP honor as the Orioles won the World Series and Robinson’s defense was the difference.

Frank Robinson: Frank Robinson is the only player in Major League history to win the Most Valuable Player Award in both leagues. He won in 1961 with the Cincinnati Reds before getting traded to the Orioles prior to the 1966 season when he won the triple crown and led the Orioles to the World Championship. In 1975, Robinson became the first African-American manager when he took the helm of the Cleveland Indians.

Dave McNally: Dave McNally was a three-time all-star and was part of the 1966 and 1970 Orioles that won the World Series. He was 181-113 in his 13 years with the Orioles and his best year was 1970 when he led the American League at 24-9. McNally was second in the Cy Young Award voting to Jim Perry (24-12) of the Minnesota Twins. With all of his credentials, McNally’s greatest impact came off the field on Dec. 23, 1975, when Peter Seitz decided in favor of McNally and fellow pitcher Andy Messersmith, which ended the reserve clause and set stage for free agency.


4 thoughts on “Franchise Four: Baltimore Orioles

    • Ryan
      If this was based on who was the better pitcher, I would have selected Palmer. However, I’m taking the word impact to be something different than ability and stats. I picked McNally because he was part of the Seitz Decision, which had a huge impact with free agency. Although he was no longer with the Orioles, McNally was part of a major change in baseball. Thanks for the question.


  1. Pingback: Here’s some help for your Franchise Four ballots « Blogs

  2. I have been an Orioles’ fan since the ’70’s. But before that I was a fan of the Washington Senators (the now-Texas ones). And that got me to thinking about whether Twins’ fans would vote for Walter Johnson (they should), or Rangers’ fans Frank Howard (probably not, and they probably shouldn’t). And I was thinking that Paul Blair really was not quite on the same level as the others on this list. So I was wondering … didn’t George Sisler really deserve to be at least on the list of 8 for this franchise? Wondering who decided, and what you think about that.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s